Wee folk


P1040115

Hi everyone.  Today I am posting a card I have made for my niece for her 10th birthday.  This was a good opportunity to use my recently acquired wee folk.

I would like to enter this card into the Clarity Stamp challenge ‘Wee Folk’.

Taking some inspiration from one of Barbara’s demonstrations, here is what I did.

I took a blue base card and applied worn lipstick and squeezed lemonade distress ink, then sprinkled with water.  Using Jo’s bubbles stencil I added some moonlight white to create a bokeh effect. I also shaded these lightly with a spectrum noir pencil. I stamped the small grasses stamp at the bottom of the card. I stamped and cut out the wee folk and mushroom and also die-cut some branches.  Using a piece of white card I die cut an opening and applied some colour with the same distress inks.  Using the moonlight white and the bubbles stencil I created the same bokeh effect.  I stamped some stars around the card and using chipped sapphire I coloured all the edges.

After placing the week folk and branches etc. I placed the die-cut panel onto the card.  I then made some bunting from tiny triangles of white card, wrote happy birthday on them and stuck them to some blue bakers twine and attched them to the card front. I then added the number ten to the bottom of the card.

Items used:

Wee folk, small grasses stamp, Jo’s bubbles stencil, worn lipstick, squeezed lemonade and chipped sapphire distress inks, moonlight white brilliance ink pad.

Thank you for stopping by to look at my blog.

7 thoughts on “Wee folk

  1. How lovely your card is any ten year old would imagine love to receive this love the way your fairy s are playing in the tree good luck in the Clarity challenge

  2. A beautiful card for a 10 year old. I really like the effect you have achieved with the inks, and the wee folk look right at home. Thank you for entering this month’s Clarity Challenge. Good luck! xx

  3. Beautiful, Jan – I’m sure your niece will love it. The background you have created is a perfect match for the stamps. Good luck and thank you for entering the challenge. ;~}

  4. What a wonderful composition Jan & thank you for sharing your tutorial as well. This is a great card and I bet that it will be treasured for years to come by your niece.
    Good luck in the challenge this month xxx

  5. Such beautiful backgrounds you’ve created here Jan: I love the colours and the bokeh technique which is perfect to use with the fairies. Thanks for entering the Clarity challenge, and good luck. Xxx

Leave a Reply

