Layers


Hi everyone

Checking through my emails on my return from holiday I was delighted to find I was the winner of the July Challenge and the bonus of the chance to be a guest designer for Country View Crafts Challenge was exciting. The theme for the September Challenge is ‘Layers’ which leads nicely into my latest passion for mixed media art.

P1030616

I started with a base of 2mm grey board, which I covered with some Bo Bunny paper, then highlighted the edges with treasure gold. My next layer was cream card, which I sprayed with tonal inks. I used a branches mask and harlequin mask and applied texture paste, which I coloured when dry. I also used a chicken wire mask and dabbed through with distress ink in a few areas. I then applied distress ink around the edges of the card, highlighting areas with treasure gold.

P1030603

I placed cream lace and some blue ribbon across the card and adhered all this to the base.

I die-cut a birdcage and frame which I sanded down, then applied black stazon ink and frantaged both die-cuts.  I then die-cut a bird out of some coloured paper and positioned him in the cage. Next I stamped an image of Elizabeth Bennett, which I coloured with chalks, die-cut to match the size of the frame and then sprayed with ‘spray and shine’ twice to give a glossy finish.  I then placed the top frame over the image with silicone glue to give a raised effect.

P1030606

Finally, both the birdcage and image were mounted on to the base and then I added some flowers and leaves around the cage. I added flower embellishments from my stash next to the image, a butterfly in a frantaged circle and some metal embellishments to finish.  Hope you like it!

I would like to enter my Layers project in the following Challenges.

IndigoBlu Challenge 7   Shabby Chic

Creative Inspirations Paint   Anything Goes

Paper-crafting Journey   Anything Goes

3 thoughts on “Layers

Leave a Reply

