My Woodland Songbird


P1030356I would like to enter ‘My Woodland Songbird’ into the following:

Sunday Stamper – Embossing

Simon Says Stamp & Show  Into the Woods

 

Today I would like to share my latest altered art up cycling entitled ‘My Woodland Songbird’.

I cut two pieces of thick card the same size and cut a square aperture in one to fit my songbird. I covered the front with some spotted paper from my stash and distressed the edges with aged mahogany.

I created a crackle background on a square piece of mountboard with glue and acrylic paint, and stamped and embossed the songbird (stampendous stamp). I then used distress inks to colour the bird and background with a little spray of water to mottle. I applied some frantage to the four corners of the board.

This was then mounted on to the base and then the front of the frame was glued on. I also frantaged the front of the frame.

I made a paper flower and cut out some leaves and dipped them in UTEE. I stamped and cut out a butterfly, coloured with promarkers and then enamelled this with clear embossing power. I twizzled some gold wire for the feelers and stuck some pearls down the middle.

I assembled all my bits and stuck in a couple of hatpins and some twigs for the flower arrangement. Finally I added my butterfly, cut two holes in the top of the frame for hanging and attached the chain. Janet

3 thoughts on “My Woodland Songbird

  1. Sweet! Love the bird and the butterfly detail is lovely! Beautiful wood inspired project! Thanks for playing along with us at Simon Says Stamp and Show!

  2. Your songbird is stunning, love the neutral colour palette. The butterfly and flower add wonderful dimension. Thanks so much for joining in the Simon Says Stampnand Show Challenge. Tracy x

Leave a Reply

